The Art & Vins team went to Pessac Léognan to discover Château Haut-Bergey. We would like to share with you our impressions of the property and the tasting, and especially the team’s favorite: Cuvée Paul, a 2019 white wine in the Pessac-Léognan appellation. The Haut-Bergey castle impresses with its mid-19th century architecture in the classic and renaissance styles. The wines are in line with the great Bordeaux wines, elegant and authentic.

The secret ?

A passionate team orchestrated by Paul Garcin, general manager of the estate, who brings forth his firm vision and a openness of mind with the intention of doing things differently. In 2015, he initiated the organic conversion and went so far as to introduce the philosophy of biodynamics in the vineyards and in the cellar. The humid and unpredictable Bordeaux climate did not get the better of Paul Garcin’s vision, as evidenced by the Cuvée Paul 2019, a wine bursting with emotion.


Tasting Notes

by Art & Vins

Look : A white wine of golden colour with silvery reflections, a beautiful intensity and clarity. The tears on the glass are fine and slow, favourable signs of a good tasting.

Smell : The 2019 vintage is an exceptional year for the dry white wines of Bordeaux. The nose is nuanced and fresh with some vegetal and citrus notes that give way to ripe yellow fruits. After aeration, the wine reveals a delightful scent of pear compote and honey.

Taste : This is when the Paul cuvée is most striking with its lively and controlled attack. A fresh palate revealing notes of white-fleshed fruits with balance and consistency and hints of a saline finish. An incredible length for a wine aged on fine lees. The round and graceful finish invites you to repeat the experience. This is a wine with good aging potential. For lovers of freshness, try to taste it in its early years.

Food and wine pairing : Delicacy and finesse is advised. Try this wine with seafood such as blue lobster, large praws, or a medallion of monkfish with saffron or snails à la Caudérannaise, or more simply, with grilled chicken cutlet and a mash of artichokes and yacon roots.

Wine/YearChâteau Haut-Bergey – Cuvée Paul 2019
Region/AppellationPessac Léognan / Appellation d’Origine Protégée (AOP)
Grape blends85% Sauvignon Blanc, 15% Sémillon
Aging potential 10 years
Serving temperature12°C
Price*25€ per bottle (750ml)

Get this wine at Art & Vins
2 Place du Palais (map)
Bordeaux

Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health, consume in moderation.
*) The price is subjet to change without prior notice.

L’équipe Art & Vins s’est rendue en Pessac Léognan pour découvrir le Château Haut-Bergey. À l’approche des fêtes, on vous partage nos impressions sur la propriété et la dégustation, notamment sur la cuvée coup de coeur de l’équipe : la cuvée Paul, un vin blanc millésimé 2019 en appellation Pessac-Léognan.

Château Haut-Bergey - Cuvée Paul -2019 - La dégustation par Art & Vins
Cuvée Paul 2019

Le château Haut-Bergey impressionne de par son architecture, datant du milieu XIXème, c’est un mélange de styles, de classicisme et de renaissance. Les vins sont dans la lignée des grands vins bordelais, élégant et authentique.

Le secret ?

Une équipe passionnée orchestrée par Paul Garcin, directeur général du domaine, qui apporte sa vision rock et une ouverture d’esprit différente sur le monde du vivant avec une intention de faire autrement. En 2015, il amorce la conversion bio et ira jusqu’à introduire la philosophie de biodynamie dans les vignes et au chai. Le climat bordelais humide et capricieux n’a pas eu raison de la vision de Paul Garcin, en témoigne la cuvée Paul éclatante d’émotions.


La dégustation

par Art et Vins

L’oeil : Un vin blanc de couleur dorée aux reflets argentés, une belle intensité et clarté. Les larmes sont fines et lentes propices à une belle dégustation.

Le nez : Le millésime 2019 est une année exceptionnelle pour les vins blancs secs du Bordelais. Le nez est nuancé de fraicheur avec quelques notes végétales et d’agrumes qui laissent place aux fruits jaunes bien mûrs. Après aération, les coings compotés et le miel estival nous charme volontiers.

La bouche : C’est à ce moment-là que la cuvée Paul est la plus saisissante. Une belle attaque vive et maîtrisée. Un palais frais dévoilant des notes de fruits à chair blanche poursuivant avec équilibre et constance pour finir sur des notes salines. Une longueur incroyable pour ce vin élevé sur lies fines. Une belle finale ronde et gracieuse qui invite à réitérer l’expérience. Un vin qui bénéficie d’un joli potentiel de garde. Pour les amateurs de fraicheur, nous vous conseillons de le déguster sur ses jeunes années.

Accord met et vin : Le mariage se devra délicat et en finesse. Privilégiez les produits nobles de la mer, du homard bleu, des langoustes, un médaillon de lotte au safran ou des escargots à la caudérannaise, ou plus simplement, avec une escalope de poulet grillé et une purée de topinambours et de yacons.

Vin / MillésimeCuvée Paul – 2019
Région / AppellationPessac Léognan / Appellation d’Origine Protégée (AOP)
Cépages85% Sauvignon Blanc, 15% Sémillon
Potentiel de garde10 ans
Température de service12°C
Prix conseillé*25€ la bouteille (750ml)

Retrouvez cette bouteille de vin chez votre caviste Art et Vins
2 Place du Palais (carte)
Bordeaux

L’abus d’alcool est dangereux pour la santé, à consommer avec modération.
*) Le prix est sujet à changement sans préavis.